New Hampshire Hospice and Palliative Care Organization

125 Airport Road
Concord, NH 03301


  Officers - Executive Committee:    
Andrea Patrick-Baudet, RN, CHPN, CHPCA
Hospice Director
Cornerstone VNA

603-332-1133 ext. 104

Rev. Mary Francis Drake, MA, MSW, LICSW, AHPC-SW 

Hospice Program Manager
Pemi-Baker Community Health
Phone: 603-536-2232

Karen Coy, RN
Hospice Director, Northwoods Home Health & Hospice
1-800-750-2366 Ext 5273
Carla Braveman, BSN, RN, Med, CHCE
Vice President, Home & Community Services
VNA of Manchester & S. N.H.
Manchester, NH 03101
Janice McDermott, Executive Director
125 Airport Road
Concord, NH  03301

  Board Members:    

April Bartley RN, CHPN, CCM
Hospice Director
Lake Sunapee Region VNA & Hospice
603-526-4077 Ext 243

  Sanders Burnstein, MD
Dartmouth Hitchcock Nashua
Nashua, NH 03063 

  John Getts, President/CEO
Home Health & Hospice Care
Merrimack, NH

  Andrew J. Kleiner 
Hospice and VNA Liaison
Home Care Specialists, Inc.
Haverhill, MA 01835
  Phil Lawson, MD ABFP, ABHPM
Med. Director of North Country
Home Health and Hospice
Palliative Care Consultant
Littleton Regional Hospital
Littleton, NH 03561
  Patti Nichols, MSW, LICSW
Foundation for Healthy Communities
Concord, NH 03301
  Patricia Ramsey, NHA
President, The Edgewood Centre
Portsmouth, NH 03801


NHHPCO Welcomes New Board Members!

We are delighted to announce that the following three people have been elected to the NHHPCO Board of Directors:

  • Ellen Bassett, MD, is currently Staff Physician at the DHMC Palliative Care. She previously led development of a universal precautions approach to opioid prescribing in longitudinal outpatient palliative care clinic, and from 2009-2013 was Medical Director of the Concord Regional Visiting Nurse Association Hospice Program.
  • Kate Dexter, RN, BSN, CHPN, is Director of Hospice, Home Healthcare, Hospice and Community Services. In 2011 - 2014, she was HCS Intake Care Coordination Supervisor. She has been with HCS since 2002, and before that was with Pike's Peak Hospice and Palliative Care, Colorado Springs, Floor RN/Charge nurse at inpatient hospice.
  • Janet Prescott is Executive Director of Hospice Help Foundation, a regionally focused, 501(c)3 charitable organization addressing the needs of impoverished hospice patients, regardless of which hospice provides their care. She has served as a NHHPCO committee member, volunteered for the annual golf tournament, and supported the annual conference. From 2009 - 2015 she was Director of Business Development and Director of SolAmor Hospice Foundation, both at SolAmor Hospice in North Hampton. In 2001 - 2009 she was Director of Development and Community Relations at Seacoast Hospice in Exeter.
The 2016 NHHPCO Board of Directors

The following board members have contributed to our work in many important ways. Thank you, Sandy and Phil. We will miss you, but know that our work together is not done!

Phil Lawson, MD, ABFP, ABHPM, Littleton Regional Healthcare, North Country Home Health and Hospice, Ammonoosuc Community Health Services, Littleton.

Phil served two terms from 2010– 2016. In that time, he has been a central figure in our Palliative Care Clinician Group meetings as an educator and facilitator of important topics. He has also provided presentations at our annual Fall Conference and at the Statewide EMS Annual Conference on “If You Can’t Save a Life: Save a Death”. Phil has been instrumental in bringing national attention to a barrier to hospice care in RHC/FQHC settings due to CMS requirements for physician billing. He is now leading a Medication Management Workgroup to address the safe use and disposal of opioids for hospice patients and families.The group has created guidelines that are being finalized by NHPCO.

Sandra Knowlton-Soho, MS, RN, Practice Manager, Palliative Care Coordinator, DHMC, Lebanon, served from 2012 – 2015.

As Board Secretary from 2014-2015, Sandy was an integral part of our executive committee and volunteered to lead us in a successful strategic planning meeting in 2015. Sandy also participated as a founding member of the Palliative Care Administrator Peer Network Group. Sandy resigned from our board late last summer when she accepted a position as an ACO Clinical Consultant for OneCareVT.